Ribbon-Cutting Ceremony Officially Launches Mallinckrodt’s Newly Renovated cGMP Packaging Facility

cGMP Facility_story

Missouri State Sen. Bill Eigel (R-District 23), Mallinckrodt Vice President of Manufacturing for Specialty Generics Steve Richards, Senior Site Director John Leonard, along with a number of civic and community leaders including Daniel Mehan, President and CEO of the Missouri Chamber of Commerce, cut the ceremonial ribbon to mark the opening of Mallinckrodt’s newly renovated current good manufacturing practices (cGMP) packaging facility with Mallinckrodt employees witnessing the event.

“The St. Louis Plant has a long and proud history, starting on this location more than 150 years ago,” said Leonard. “The new packaging facility is an important milestone in this plant’s transformation and clearly demonstrates Mallinckrodt’s continued commitment to our Specialty Generics business and the greater St. Louis region.”

Mallinckrodt’s $9 million capital investment to construct the state-of-the-art packaging facility will improve safety, minimize business interruption risks, enhance equipment reliability, and ensure the facility meets the latest cGMP standards for pharmaceutical excipients, as well as customer expectations.

Sen. Eigel, during his comments, spoke to the importance of having a strong core manufacturing base in the greater St. Louis area, and thanked Mallinckrodt for their 150 years of manufacturing excellence.

“This project is a key component of our long-range improvement plans for the St. Louis plant and will ensure we remain competitive well into the future,” said Richards. “Congratulations to the Specialty Generics leadership team and everyone here at the plant who have worked tirelessly to see this project to fruition. Well done!”

Picture caption from left: Steve Richards, Vice President of Manufacturing for Specialty Generics; Ralph Grant, Senior Director, Engineering & Operations; Senator Bill Eigel; John Leonard, Senior Site Director; Jordan Fears, Director of District Relations for US Congresswoman Ann Wagner, Second District; Otis William, Executive Director, St. Louis Development Corporation; Hart Nelson, Vice President, Public Policy, St. Louis Regional Chamber