Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals Receives 2018 Science Leadership Award

Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals was recently named the 2018 Science Leadership Award recipient by the Academy of Science in St. Louis, Missouri. The award is presented annually to distinguished individuals or organizations who have made important contributions to the advancement of science and scientists in the St. Louis region.

Awardees were honored at the Outstanding St. Louis Scientists awards dinner on Thursday, April 5, 2018 at the Missouri Botanical Garden.

Dr. Steven Romano, Mallinckrodt’s Executive Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer, received the award on the company’s behalf and commented, “We are deeply honored to receive this award and to join past recipients who we greatly admire and respect for their leadership in science and STEM in our region. At Mallinckrodt, we recognize that the STEM students of today will become the innovative researchers and scientists of tomorrow who will further advance our mission of improving patient lives. We are proud to support organizations like the Academy of Science and their efforts to advance science and STEM education, particularly for those students who might not otherwise have access to these programs.”

A key focus of Mallinckrodt’s corporate philanthropy program is supporting STEM initiatives globally in kindergarten to 12th grade schools, community colleges, universities and other nonprofit educational organizations, including programs working to create a diverse pipeline of science professionals. The company has been a long-standing supporter of the Academy of Science’s St. Louis Teen STEM Careers Program, which is offered at no cost to schools in the region and directly impacts more than 1,500 students each year.

The Academy of Science is an independent science organization, supported entirely through community contributions, and the driving force behind scientific progress and awareness in St. Louis for more than 150 years. The Academy’s resources are entirely mission focused, on expanded scientific outreach, education, resource sharing, and the recognition of scientific accomplishment.

Pictured above from left: Benjamin H. Hulsey, J.D., President, Academy of Science Board of Trustees; Steven Romano, M.D., Executive Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer, Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals